First start of MIB 2
The same for MIB 2 under MATLAB and for the standalone versions:
- MIB starts with a window of tips; uncheck the checkbox in it to stop showing the tips at startup
- Every 30 days MIB checks for updates during the start and offers to download a newer version when there is one.
Updates can also be checked from
MIB->Menu->Help->Check for Update
- To use MIB with Fiji/Omero, please add the Fiji/Omero installation directory to the External dirs dialog
MIB->Menu->File->Preferences->Program settings->External dirs
- If the widgets of GUI are too big or too small adjust the GUI scaling
- MIB stores its settings in
mib.mat after it is closed, see Configuration file
- Access help and tutorials from the menu of MIB:
MIB->Menu->Help->Help or from mib.helsinki.fi/tutorials
MIB stores its configuration parameters:
MIB 2.60 and newer:
- Windows in
C:\Users\Username\MATLAB\mib.mat or the second choice in the Windows TEMP directory C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\Temp\
- MacOs in
/Users/username/MATLAB or the second choice the local TEMP directory
- Linux in
/home/username/MATLAB or the second choice the local TEMP directory
MIB 2.52 and older:
- Windows in
c:\temp\im_browser.mat or when c:\temp is not available then the configuration parameters can be found in C:\Users\User-name\AppData\Local\Temp\im_browser.mat
- Linux in the script directory or in the local
tmp directory (/tmp)
The configuration file is automatically created after closing of MIB.
If MIB does not start check MATLAB path and/or delete the
mib.mat (or
im_browser.mat) file.
GUI scaling of MIB
Optional tools
MIB can be extended with various usable optional tools, unfortunately due to various reasons those tools
can not be automatically installed and require manual installation or configuration.
Check the
System Requirements section for optional software
packages as
segment-anything,
BMxD filters,
FIJI,
and other options.
Define Java Heap space
When using the BioFormats reader or FijiConnect you may get an error message that the amount of available Java heap space is too low:
Java exception occurred:
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
Java exception occurred:
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
This can be fixed by increasing Java Heap Space value in MATLAB
MIB under MATLAB environment
Standalone MIB
The following instructions are for Windows:
- Navigate to
C:\Users\[USERNAME]\AppData\Local\Temp\[USERNAME]\mcrCache[MATLAB_VERSION]\MIB_e30\.matlab\
where
[USERNAME] is the name of the current user
[MATLAB_VERSION] is a numeric MATLAB version (for example, mcrCache9.11)
- Open
matlab.prf for editing
- Modify
JavaMemHeapMax=Ixxxx to a desired value, where xxxx should be replaced with new desired memory allocation value in Mb
- Save the file
- Restart MIB